Lagos govt releases location of markets residents can buy ‘cheap’ rice, beans, others

The Lagos State Government is set to open discounted food markets at various locations in the state today, March 17, 2024....CONTINUE.THE.FULL.READING OF THE ARTICLE>>>

The discounted market, known as Ounje Eko, allows residents in the state to purchase food items at a 25% discount.

Gbenga Omotoso, Commissioner for Information and Strategy, stated that Babajide Sanwo-Olu, Governor of the state, directed that the ‘Ounje Eko’ food markets should commence discounted sales of food items across the five divisions of Lagos, effective from Sunday, March 15, as reported by Punch.

The commissioner mentioned that the food items—rice, beans, garri, bread, eggs, tomatoes, pepper, among others.

Omotoso added that measures have been put in place to prevent unethical practices in the sale of the food items.

His words: “In order to prevent sharp practices and ensure the foodstuff reaches a large number of Lagosians, a voucher system will be introduced as the pilot scheme kicks off.

“Independent payment solution providers and food vendors have been identified and carefully selected to operate the process. They will also provide real-time data on the exercise for monitoring.

“For the purpose of transparency, prices of the items have also been listed.”

Prices of food items

Omotoso revealed some of the prices Nigerians will enjoy, which include a 5kg bag of rice at N5,325, with 1kg selling for N1,065.

Similarly, a 5kg bag of beans will be sold at N6,225, while 1kg will cost N1,245.

Here are the locations of the Lagos discounted markets:

Lagos Island

Eti Osa LGA – Ikota Primary School, Lekki -Epe Expressway, Ikota Eti-Osa East LCDA – Admiralty Farmers Market: Plot 33 Admiralty way, Lekki Phase 1 Ikoyi Obalende LCDA – Old Nursing Ground, 1-9 Awolowo Road, Ikoyi Iru Victoria Island LCDA – Victory Island Snr. Secondary, School, Opposite Eko Hotel Lagos Island LGA – Elegbata Junior High School Lagos Island East LCDA – Lafiaji Senior Secondary School


Ikorodu LGA – Ikorodu Grammar School Igbogbo/Bayeku LCDA – Zumuratu Islamiya Grammar School, Igbogbo Ijede LCDA – Luwasa Jnr High School, ljede Ikorodu North LCDA – Odogunyan Grammar School, Odogunyan Ikorodu West LCDA – Cherubim and Seraphim Primary School Imota LCDA – LGA Pry. School, Imota Kosofe LGA – St Emmanuel Pry Sch, Ogudu Ikosi Isheri LCDA – Ikosi High School, Ketu Agboyi Ketu LCDA – Comprehensive Jnr High School, Agboyi Ketu


Agege LGA – Dairy Farm Secondary School Orile Agege LCDA – Saka Tinubu Memorial School, Orile Agege Ajeromi-Ifelodun – AFRICAN Primary School, (Close to the Secretariat) Ifelodun LCDA – LA Primary School Layeni, beside the Layeni Police Station, Ojo Road, Ajegunte, Apapa Alimosho LGA – Ebenezer/Egbeda Primary School, Egbeda Mosan Okunola LCDA – Alimosho Secondary School, Alimosho Agbado Oke-Odo LCDA – Oke Odo Primary School Igando-Ikotun LCDA – Igando Community Grammar School, Igando Ayobo -Ipaja LCDA – St Andrews Anglican Pry School, Church Bus Stop, Ipaja Lagos Mainland LGA – Nawarudeen Secondary School, Cemetry Street, Ebute Metta Yaba LCDA – Lagos City College, Sabo, Yaba Odi Olowo Ojuwoye LCDA – Ilupeju Grammar School, Ilupeju Oshodi-Isolo – Owoseni Primary School, Oshodi Ejigbo LCDA – Oke Afa Snr. Secondary, Jankande Estate Isolo LCDA – Ire Akari Snr Secondary School, Isolo Shomolu LGA – Gbagada Comprehensive Jr High School. Bariga LCDA – Alubarika Primary School Surulere LGA – Lagos Progressive Pry. Sch, Mbah Str. Surulere Coker Aguda LCDA – Aguda Community Senior Secondary School Itire-Ikate LCDA – Itire Ikate Primary School, Eleja Ifako ljaiye LGA – African Church Primary School, College Road Ojokoro LCDA – Ijaye Ojokoro High School, Ojokoro Ikeja LGA – Tokunbo Alli Primary School, Ikeja Ojodu LCDA – Ojodu Grammar School, Omole Onigbongbo LCDA – Oregun Senior Secondary School Lagos State Secretariat, Alausa – Adeyemi Bero Auditorium Premises, Alausa Egbe -Idimu LCDA – Local Govt. Grammar School, Idimu


Epe LGA – St. Theresa Roman Catholic Primary School, Awolowo Way, Oke Oyinbo Eredo LCDA – St Patrick Secondary School Eredo Ikosi Ejinrin LCDA – Methodist primary school Agbowa Ibeju Lekki LGA – Ibeju High School, Ibeju Lekki LCDA – Lekki High Community High School, Lekki.

About the author


JOLOWO BUNALAYEFA PIUS is the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) for BUNADY NEWSLITE GLOBAL ENTERPRISE ( He started his Blogging/Journalism career at God's Own Wireless Company 2012. He's a graduate of Adekunle Ajasin University Akungba Akoko Ondo State, with a major in History And International Studies. You can contact him for press events, advertisement promotions on Email:

Leave a Comment